REAL FOOD ON A BUDGET SATURDAYS: PIY FARMS

PIY Farm or Pick it Yourself are a fun family activity that can also help reduce your REAL FOOD bill. I’ve been scouring the Internet for all of the PIY Farms in Iowa. Before I give out our REAL FOOD DIRECTORY, I’ve been calling all of the farms to make sure they are actually REAL FOOD farms. Meaning no chemicals, GMOs, artificial fertilizers, etc.

Sadly, I’m coming up short…even being hung up on. Even when calling farms that vendor at our local farmers market. Iowa may the epicenter of Agriculture but it has unfortunately morphed into the center of the industrialized food system. The good news…I’m not giving up! The directory will be finished, we will have a reliable list of farms that offer REAL FOOD in Iowa. Want to hear something cool? I’m also working on setting up homeschool co-op field trips to coordinate with these farms. I believe everyone deserves to know where their food comes from and how it is produced.

Hopefully I will have a handful of farms to release next week. *Fingers Crossed* If anyone has a reliable farm source, please, please, PLEASE email/Facebook/call me with the info!

Leave a Reply

