February Reading Goals

Here is a little sneak peek on what we will (hopefully) be reading this month. I know I have MANY more Valentine themed books around here somewhere. I’ve been telling myself that I absolutely have to figure out a system for organizing all of our themed/seasonal books. I’ve been meaning to remedy this issue. Perhaps I will simply label manilla envelopes according to themes and file the envelopes in with my teaching material. Problem solved!

This list in no way reflects everything that we will be reading. Our goal is to have at least one hour of quiet reading everyday. Doesn’t always work that way, but that is the purpose of having goals. Otherwise we would have nothing to work towards, right?

I can tell you that ever since our 5th grader purchased her Kindle, she has had her nose stuck in a ‘book’ ever since. If you have a book lover at home, I highly recommend the Kindle. She has always been an avid reader, but now I find myself asking her to “put the Kindle down” so she can attend to other things throughout the day. She decided that she needs a genie to do all of her work so she can sit and read all day long. Wouldn’t that be nice?!?

House of Kirk will be reading this week:

Mama: Everything I Want to Do Is Illegal by Joel Salatin
5th Grader: Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray
3rd Grader: Doggone…Thrid Grade by Collen O’Shaughnessy McKenna
1st Grader: LPS Totally Talented Pets by Cecile Skies
Preschooler: The Snowman by Raymond Briggs
Toddler: Alphabet and Sight Word Flash Cards & Picture Books

As a family, House of Kirk will be reading this month:

Valentine Mice! by Bethany Roberts
I Love You, Stinky Face by Lisa McCourt
I Love You, Grumpy Bunny by Justine Korman
Mouse’s First Valentine by Lauren Thompson

The Hardy Boys: Starter Set
#1 The Tower Treasure
#2 The House on the Cliff
#3 The Secret of the Old Mill
#4 The Missing Chums
#5 Hunting for Hidden Gold
#6 The Shore Road Mystery

 

What will your family be reading this month?

Leave a Reply

