CALCIUM FROM EGG SHELLS

 

I always love finding new ways to use or reuse things that would otherwise go to waste. Not long ago our egg shells went into the garden or compost but now they are made into Calcium powder.

We keep the fridge stocked with hard-boiled eggs at all times for breakfast and snacking. Therefore we have about 2 1/2 dozen egg shells sitting around every week. I felt guilty putting them all in the compost, even though they were working their magic in the soil. So I did a little digging and found several articles on how to make calcium powder from egg shells.

After shelling the eggs I rinse the shells in hot water, leaving the air sack in tacked. Then I bake them at 350F for 8-10 minutes to remove the mineral oil coating and prepare them for grinding. Next I place 2-3 eggs in the coffee grinder and pulse until they become a fine and magically fluffy powder. Before storing we remove any large pieces that maybe sharp or gritty. It is then transferred into a mason jar and stored in the spice cupboard. I will sprinkle them into all sort of dishes, sauces and smoothies. One tsp. of powder provides 1800-2000mg of calcium.

There are several ways to use the powder. I prefer to use it as straight powder. Less mess and fuss and I feel comfortable with the nutrition ‘as is’.

Leave a Reply

